Ben Howland (era at Westwood)

Okay . . . let's try this again.

Moderators: Shirley, Sabo, brian, rass, DaveInSeattle

howard
Karl Hungus

Ben Howland (era at Westwood)

Post by howard »

Dude took the Bruins to the Final Four three years in a row, consecutively. Then, three early exits, two tourney misses. Upon reflection, was losing to Calipari/Memphis in the national semifinal with Kevin Love, Darren Collison and Russell Westbrook an underachievement?

Ben is my age. And, technically a Gaucho, (an assistant just after I graduated, and played high school, jc, and coached jc in Santa Barbara). Gauchos bounce back; I am sure he isn't done coaching at the highest level.

eta: Forgot the link. Yahoo reporting he is gone. Official announcement due tomorrow.

Sources: Ben Howland fired by UCLA

etaa: That 2008 tourney, only Love was a freshman; Westbrook a soph and Collison a senior. The memory is failing.
Last edited by howard on Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Who knows? Maybe, you were kidnapped, tied up, taken away and held for ransom.

Those days are gone forever
Over a long time ago
Oh yeah…
Shirley
The Dude

Re: Ben Howland (era at Westwood)

Post by Shirley »

Just a stunning fall. Before his early, amazing success at ucla, he was damn successful at Pitt.

I read that SI article a while back, but I still don't really understand what went wrong.
Totally Kafkaesque
howard
Karl Hungus

Post by howard »

Things I hear are not being able to adjust to the era of one-and-done; while going after national talent, not taking care of locking down the best LA talent; his defense-first approach too difficult to get kids to buy into, in a run-and-gun league. Probably covered in that SI article.

Over a long time ago
Oh yeah…
Rams Fanny
Bunny Lebowski

Post by Rams Fanny »

This has to be about getting out in front of pending violations, right?