The Athletic Thread

Okay . . . let's try this again.

Moderators: Shirley, Sabo, brian, rass, DaveInSeattle

brian
The Dude

The Athletic Thread

Post by brian »

Can't believe we didn't/don't already have an Athletic-specific thread.

Look, I know you need a subscription to get it, but if you don't have a subscription yet, why the hell don't you have a subscription yet!

Anyway, this is the kind of content that you get and that I am here for.

Bandwagon fan of the 2023 STANLEY CUP CHAMPIONS!
mister d
The Dude

Re: The Athletic Thread

Post by mister d »

I have a subscription and I really enjoy it right now ... but I also fully expect their end game is to kill off local news and other sports writing competition then fire a majority of the writers they paid well to join and build the place only to push out cheap bullshit.
Johnnie wrote: Sat Sep 10, 2022 8:13 pmOh shit, you just reminded me about toilet paper.
rass
The Dude

Post by rass »

Subscribed (and listened) to their Penguins podcast yesterday. It was from the day before the season started, so pre-half of their centers being injured and therefore a bit out of date (if not sad given how excited they were for the rejuvenated Malkin tour), but still got me through my run.

PS - The Pens have had a knitting lady for years
I felt aswirl with warm secretions.
brian
The Dude

Post by brian »

rass wrote: Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:42 pm Subscribed (and listened) to their Penguins podcast yesterday. It was from the day before the season started, so pre-half of their centers being injured and therefore a bit out of date (if not sad given how excited they were for the rejuvenated Malkin tour), but still got me through my run.

Yeah, the story even mentions it's not terribly unusual to see women knitting at sporting events but it was incongruent to see a college student doing it by herself in an empty section for a godawful Power Five team in a game where they were lucky not to lose by 60 points.
Steve of phpBB
The Dude