Tech Support

Okay . . . let's try this again.

Moderators: Shirley, brian, ZMan, Sabo

User avatar
Rush2112
The Dude
Posts: 5358
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Cyrus X-1
Contact:

Re: Tech Support

Post by Rush2112 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:45 pm

brian wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:06 pm
Rush2112 wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:00 pm
Imgur/vreddit is probably easier to post and doesn't include creating an account.
If you can post here directly from Imgur absolutely. I'm not sure that's possible either though.

Half the posts in the images threads are from Imgur, so very much possible.
Taste:
Grapefruit pith, orange zest, pine needle, and zesty florals. Honey malts. Musky mango with light additions of passion fruit and peach.

User avatar
Pruitt
The Dude
Posts: 12599
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:02 am
Location: North Shore of Lake Ontario

Re: Tech Support

Post by Pruitt » Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:56 pm

A while ago, my wife got a printer from work - replacing my piece of garbage printer.

Toner is now low - any of you guys order cartridges from a company called "V4ink"? They are on Amazon, so sounds semi-legit? 2 for $28 much better than $62 for one.

Recommended, or should I stick with the Brother cartridge?
Vacuum cleaner sucks up budgie.

User avatar
A_B
The Dude
Posts: 12149
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:36 am
Location: Getting them boards like a wolf in the chicken pen.

Re: Tech Support

Post by A_B » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:05 pm

They’ll probably work fine but not last as long.
Duke's working the knob! Flush it all

User avatar
Pruitt
The Dude
Posts: 12599
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:02 am
Location: North Shore of Lake Ontario

Re: Tech Support

Post by Pruitt » Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:08 pm

A_B wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:05 pm
They’ll probably work fine but not last as long.
If they last 1/4 as long, it's a trade off.

Generic it is!
Vacuum cleaner sucks up budgie.

User avatar
Pruitt
The Dude
Posts: 12599
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:02 am
Location: North Shore of Lake Ontario

Re: Tech Support

Post by Pruitt » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:22 pm

All of a sudden, my computer speakers stopped working. Not the speakers in the computer, but the external speakers.

There's a steady clicking noise coming out of the woofer. Could be a frayed cord... any ideas of possible resets before I order new speakers.

And any recommendations for good, cheap speakers? My office is maybe 12 x 12 feet.
Vacuum cleaner sucks up budgie.

User avatar
A_B
The Dude
Posts: 12149
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:36 am
Location: Getting them boards like a wolf in the chicken pen.

Re: Tech Support

Post by A_B » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:27 pm

Did you check to see if there is a nut loose behind the keyboard?
Duke's working the knob! Flush it all

User avatar
mister d
The Dude
Posts: 14586
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:15 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by mister d » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:51 pm

Hope RSmith's idea worked and you don't have to get new speakers.
Rush2112 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:46 pm
Dude got a handjob like thousands of old dudes do every day. Big whoop.

User avatar
Pruitt
The Dude
Posts: 12599
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:02 am
Location: North Shore of Lake Ontario

Re: Tech Support

Post by Pruitt » Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:46 pm

I have no idea what is going on...
Vacuum cleaner sucks up budgie.

User avatar
sancarlos
The Dude
Posts: 9317
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:46 pm
Location: NorCal via Colorado

Re: Tech Support

Post by sancarlos » Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:28 pm

I got it, D!
"What a bunch of pedantic pricks." - sybian

tennbengal
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 4826
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:07 pm

Re: Tech Support

Post by tennbengal » Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:03 am

I got it too! Also, don’t new speakers nowadays cost about four cents?

User avatar
RSmith
Brandt
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: Going away on a strange day

Re: Tech Support

Post by RSmith » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:49 am

I was about to be very confused, but that's clever. ;-)

User avatar
DaveInSeattle
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 3202
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:51 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Tech Support

Post by DaveInSeattle » Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:35 pm

So....I'm thinking that I need to get a desktop Windows computer for home. I've got an older Mac laptop, which is fine for email/internet/iTunes, but I'd like something that runs Windows that I can do programming (Visual Studio) on. With a big monitor....or maybe two video outputs for doing dual monitors.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
wlu_lax6
The Dude
Posts: 5785
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:16 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by wlu_lax6 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:01 am

DaveInSeattle wrote:
Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:35 pm
So....I'm thinking that I need to get a desktop Windows computer for home. I've got an older Mac laptop, which is fine for email/internet/iTunes, but I'd like something that runs Windows that I can do programming (Visual Studio) on. With a big monitor....or maybe two video outputs for doing dual monitors.

Any suggestions?
Build your own. It is easy and you can build a really powerful desktop at any price point you want. Plus easy to update a part when you want. It is a less then 4 hour project once you pick the parts. I went to micro center, but am guessing Fryes would do the trick too.

Plenty of videos on how to do it are out there and I liked using https://pcpartpicker.com/ as a starter for figuring out what you want for the type of machine you are thinking about.

User avatar
A_B
The Dude
Posts: 12149
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:36 am
Location: Getting them boards like a wolf in the chicken pen.

Re: Tech Support

Post by A_B » Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:02 am

I, for one, love it when i call tech support and they tell me to go learn how to fix computers to fix my problem.
Duke's working the knob! Flush it all

User avatar
wlu_lax6
The Dude
Posts: 5785
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:16 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by wlu_lax6 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:06 am

+ if you are lazy...go to Micro center and buy a machine there. You are basically skipping the build step.
Forgot the best part of building your own.....no pile of crapware preinstalled. The pleasure of not having to deal with Lenovo, Dell, etc that thinks you need their half installed/preview versions of software equals the time of connecting some things inside of a case.

User avatar
DaveInSeattle
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 3202
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:51 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Tech Support

Post by DaveInSeattle » Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:46 am

wlu_lax6 wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:01 am
DaveInSeattle wrote:
Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:35 pm
So....I'm thinking that I need to get a desktop Windows computer for home. I've got an older Mac laptop, which is fine for email/internet/iTunes, but I'd like something that runs Windows that I can do programming (Visual Studio) on. With a big monitor....or maybe two video outputs for doing dual monitors.

Any suggestions?
Build your own. It is easy and you can build a really powerful desktop at any price point you want. Plus easy to update a part when you want. It is a less then 4 hour project once you pick the parts. I went to micro center, but am guessing Fryes would do the trick too.

Plenty of videos on how to do it are out there and I liked using https://pcpartpicker.com/ as a starter for figuring out what you want for the type of machine you are thinking about.
Yeah...not building my own. I'm sure I could do it, but I don't have time for that....

User avatar
Sabo
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 4340
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:33 am
Location: NE Ohio

Re: Tech Support

Post by Sabo » Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:50 am

wlu_lax6 wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:06 am
+ if you are lazy...go to Micro center and buy a machine there. You are basically skipping the build step.
Forgot the best part of building your own.....no pile of crapware preinstalled. The pleasure of not having to deal with Lenovo, Dell, etc that thinks you need their half installed/preview versions of software equals the time of connecting some things inside of a case.
This is really great advice, by the way.
Based on that look, Guppy Troup leads by a lot more than five.

User avatar
Rush2112
The Dude
Posts: 5358
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Cyrus X-1
Contact:

Re: Tech Support

Post by Rush2112 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:53 am

I can't believe that there's not a MicroCentre in Seattle!

I'd totally recommend building your own, but you can buy bloatware free machines from NewEgg, etc. You're just paying a lot extra for the convenience.

I shopped around and built a pretty kick ass machine for like 800 that would probably be 3K or so if I had bought it already put together. This was like 5-6 years ago and I just upgraded my GPU and it still runs everything fantastically.

ETA: if you're ever interested in building your own, or upgrading what you have this is a great resource: https://old.reddit.com/r/buildapcsales/
Taste:
Grapefruit pith, orange zest, pine needle, and zesty florals. Honey malts. Musky mango with light additions of passion fruit and peach.

User avatar
DaveInSeattle
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 3202
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:51 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Tech Support

Post by DaveInSeattle » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:06 am

Rush2112 wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:53 am
I can't believe that there's not a MicroCentre in Seattle!

I'd totally recommend building your own, but you can buy bloatware free machines from NewEgg, etc. You're just paying a lot extra for the convenience.

I shopped around and built a pretty kick ass machine for like 800 that would probably be 3K or so if I had bought it already put together. This was like 5-6 years ago and I just upgraded my GPU and it still runs everything fantastically.

ETA: if you're ever interested in building your own, or upgrading what you have this is a great resource: https://old.reddit.com/r/buildapcsales/
I'm so out of it on the latest PC tech, I'm not even sure what I should be looking for...like which processor? Is nvidia still the best graphics card? All of that kind of stuff...

And I'm not going to be doing any gaming...this will be just a Windows box for me to do some development at home.

User avatar
brian
The Dude
Posts: 14662
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:52 am
Location: T-Mobile Arena

Re: Tech Support

Post by brian » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:13 am

From the sounds of it, no need to worry about the best graphics card. Probably just need to make sure you've got a lot of processing power and RAM. I used to keep up on hardware, but not so much any more (and my least favorite hardware development of the last few years has been the move to flash memory instead of hard drives since it requires having some kind of external drive as well to store any kind of serious amount of data (like if you like to access music or video, etc.)
Vegas Golden Knights retired numbers:
#58 (To honor victims of 1 October shooting)

User avatar
wlu_lax6
The Dude
Posts: 5785
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:16 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by wlu_lax6 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:34 am

I liked PC Parts Picker but there are a bunch of sites that will do the work for you in terms of picking the specifics. Lots of this is geared toward gaming but they all have non-gaming sets and all have convenient "buy all the parts" links.
https://www.custompcreview.com/pc-compu ... pc-builds/

As for the build or buy:
Current best practice is a Solid state drive for the OS and a big standard optical drive for the apps. I went with lots of memory, powerful processor, and no frills everywhere else (power supply, fans, network card, case, etc).I have since added a graphics card (which have been hard to get a good deal on because of the crypto miners). I would probably buy some bluetooth capability at this point.

User avatar
Sabo
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 4340
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:33 am
Location: NE Ohio

Re: Tech Support

Post by Sabo » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:44 am

Personally, I'd avoid Bluetooth, unless you plan to update the drivers regularly. It seems like every week there's a new Bluetooth vulnerability being reported, and a lot of Bluetooth devices have no way to get updates.
Based on that look, Guppy Troup leads by a lot more than five.

User avatar
Shirley
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 4892
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:32 pm

Re: Tech Support

Post by Shirley » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:10 pm

There's no easier or more effective way to make your computer faster than getting an SSD for your OS disk. It can be stunning to switch from standard HDD to SSD in a desktop.

If you buy a Dell, HP, etc. from somewhere and it's loaded with extra shit (it will be), just to go get the PC Decrapifier. That's an easy way to clean all that extra shit off. https://www.pcdecrapifier.com/
Totally Kafkaesque

User avatar
blundercrush
Jackie Treehorn
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:37 pm

Re: Tech Support

Post by blundercrush » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:36 pm

Can't really recommend building your own. The price difference for what you care about is almost non existant. Just be super sure you are buying a unit that can upgrade memory (usually you can tell by pictures of the motherboard and the specs), and spring for at least a 256GB SSD. get an external drive if you need extra space or if you are up to it an internal drive and plug it in.

User avatar
sancarlos
The Dude
Posts: 9317
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:46 pm
Location: NorCal via Colorado

Re: Tech Support

Post by sancarlos » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:43 pm

wlu_lax6 wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:06 am
+ if you are lazy...go to Micro center and buy a machine there. You are basically skipping the build step.
Forgot the best part of building your own.....no pile of crapware preinstalled. The pleasure of not having to deal with Lenovo, Dell, etc that thinks you need their half installed/preview versions of software equals the time of connecting some things inside of a case.
Damn, I just bought my daughter a new Dell laptop a couple days ago. There's a Microsoft store in Palo Alto. Mebbe I should have gone there, instead.
"What a bunch of pedantic pricks." - sybian

User avatar
DaveInSeattle
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 3202
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:51 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Tech Support

Post by DaveInSeattle » Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:35 pm

I went to Fry's today, and bought a PC/Monitor. Everything is good, except for the built-in WiFi/Network seems goofy. The room where I set it up is not too far from where my cable modem lives, and when I have my Mac Laptop there I get fine connection speeds, but the desktop WiFi connection is really slow.

Any hints on what I can do to remedy this?

User avatar
DaveInSeattle
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 3202
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:51 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Tech Support

Post by DaveInSeattle » Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:21 pm

DaveInSeattle wrote:
Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:35 pm
I went to Fry's today, and bought a PC/Monitor. Everything is good, except for the built-in WiFi/Network seems goofy. The room where I set it up is not too far from where my cable modem lives, and when I have my Mac Laptop there I get fine connection speeds, but the desktop WiFi connection is really slow.

Any hints on what I can do to remedy this?
Answering myself....the easiest fix? Move the router to the office with the new desktop, and plug in the ethernet cable! Huzzah...

User avatar
Johnnie
The Dude
Posts: 8756
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: ABQ, BITCH!
Contact:

Re: Tech Support

Post by Johnnie » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:24 pm

Ok, Google isn't helping.

Sometimes if I go to a website on mobile, like Mediaite just now, I'll get this "Warning to view video on this site update your video player" and it automatically opens the Google play store to a generic video player with lots of reviews of it being spam.

Does my phone have a virus or something? Seems like it's only on certain sites.

Anyone know?
mister d wrote:Couldn't have pegged me better.

User avatar
Brontoburglar
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 4001
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:20 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by Brontoburglar » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:31 pm

speaking from experience it's a site issue and not a phone issue
"We're not the smartest people in the world. We go down the straightaway and turn left. That's literally what we do." -- Clint Bowyer

User avatar
Johnnie
The Dude
Posts: 8756
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: ABQ, BITCH!
Contact:

Re: Tech Support

Post by Johnnie » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:35 pm

Thanks. I sure hope so.

I have all my settings so that video is muted and only haptic feedback is on my phone when using it.

So when this digitized female voice gets all loud and redirects to the play store I nearly panic.
mister d wrote:Couldn't have pegged me better.

User avatar
Johnny Carwash
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 3670
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:57 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Sununus

Re: Tech Support

Post by Johnny Carwash » Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:19 am

Johnnie wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:35 pm
So when this digitized female voice gets all loud and redirects to the play store I nearly panic.
I'm sure that's the first time you've had an issue with a loud woman's voice coming from your mobile device.
"All us Swampers are fountains of useless information. We just have different areas of strength." —sancarlos

User avatar
mister d
The Dude
Posts: 14586
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:15 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by mister d » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:37 pm

Chris Carson has given me reason to replace our almost dead laptop (missing a battery so only functions plugged in + memory is full). Went with a MacBook Air with an external hard drive that I plan to store all music and photos on. Currently backing everything up now with the thought of wiping the old laptop of everything but pictures then adding more pics on and storing it offsite. Anything I should be thinking of that I’m not? Any risk in running all music/pics off an external? Should that technically primary “backup” hard drive also have a backup?
Rush2112 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:46 pm
Dude got a handjob like thousands of old dudes do every day. Big whoop.

User avatar
brian
The Dude
Posts: 14662
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:52 am
Location: T-Mobile Arena

Re: Tech Support

Post by brian » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:41 pm

mister d wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:37 pm
Chris Carson has given me reason to replace our almost dead laptop (missing a battery so only functions plugged in + memory is full). Went with a MacBook Air with an external hard drive that I plan to store all music and photos on. Currently backing everything up now with the thought of wiping the old laptop of everything but pictures then adding more pics on and storing it offsite. Anything I should be thinking of that I’m not? Any risk in running all music/pics off an external? Should that backup hard drive also have a backup?
I do pretty much the same. Any modern laptop is going to have an SSD hard drive which is faster, but reduces capacity.

I've never had too many issues with that setup, but my iTunes app does sometimes lose the path to the music folder on the external HD. Fixing it is pretty easy and quick but I don't know why it loses the path in the iTunes preferences occasionally.

As for backup of a backup, only if you're worried about losing your backup, dawg. (Seriously, I just copy important backup stuff to the cloud and figure if my external with all of my music gets lost I still have it stored on my phone and on a separate iPad classic and can probably end up getting it from one of those back to an external even if it's a pain.
Vegas Golden Knights retired numbers:
#58 (To honor victims of 1 October shooting)

User avatar
mister d
The Dude
Posts: 14586
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:15 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by mister d » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:43 pm

Yeah, my concern is if I wipe my music to hold all pics on the old laptop, I’ve now only got the majority of our music (and any 2019 on pics) in a single spot. I don’t trust the cloud because I assume everything like that will eventually fail without recourse.
Rush2112 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:46 pm
Dude got a handjob like thousands of old dudes do every day. Big whoop.

User avatar
brian
The Dude
Posts: 14662
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:52 am
Location: T-Mobile Arena

Re: Tech Support

Post by brian » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:50 pm

mister d wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:43 pm
Yeah, my concern is if I wipe my music to hold all pics on the old laptop, I’ve now only got the majority of our music (and any 2019 on pics) in a single spot. I don’t trust the cloud because I assume everything like that will eventually fail without recourse.
Storage is so cheap, just get another drive, back it all up and stick it someplace safe. Probably worth $60 or thereabouts it would cost for piece of mind.
Vegas Golden Knights retired numbers:
#58 (To honor victims of 1 October shooting)

User avatar
EnochRoot
Donny
Posts: 2056
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 6:18 pm

Re: Tech Support

Post by EnochRoot » Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:36 am

mister d wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:43 pm
Yeah, my concern is if I wipe my music to hold all pics on the old laptop, I’ve now only got the majority of our music (and any 2019 on pics) in a single spot. I don’t trust the cloud because I assume everything like that will eventually fail without recourse.
System redundancy tends to be a good thing. Personally I’ve got a WD NAS that I use to store backups of photos, documents, music and website development work archives and then I have a far more portable WD that requires a USB connection to my iMac for access to my music (activate Home Sharing so that it’s accessible anywhere). I use iCloud for primary access to photos and documents. Again, the NAS is just backups.

That was a little convoluted:

WD NAS: backup for everything.
WD Passport: primary access to my music.
iCloud: primary access to photos, docs.

I wouldn’t worry about the cloud infrastructure going poof. It’s the future.

User avatar
Pruitt
The Dude
Posts: 12599
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:02 am
Location: North Shore of Lake Ontario

Re: Tech Support

Post by Pruitt » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:25 pm

Recently I have been getting messages on my imac that the computer has run out of application memory.

Can't figure it out - there is tons of unused memory.

What is going on here?
Vacuum cleaner sucks up budgie.

User avatar
A_B
The Dude
Posts: 12149
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:36 am
Location: Getting them boards like a wolf in the chicken pen.

Re: Tech Support

Post by A_B » Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:31 am

Application memory is RAM, not hard drive space right?

So it could be some program is hogging it all for one reason or another. Could check the system monitor when you get the message to see what program is using the most of your resources.
Duke's working the knob! Flush it all

User avatar
Pruitt
The Dude
Posts: 12599
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:02 am
Location: North Shore of Lake Ontario

Re: Tech Support

Post by Pruitt » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:27 am

A_B wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:31 am
Application memory is RAM, not hard drive space right?

So it could be some program is hogging it all for one reason or another. Could check the system monitor when you get the message to see what program is using the most of your resources.
Thanks - I'll do that.

But when the warning came up yesterday, I only had Spotify, Chrome and a screenwriting program open. Ran a virus scan and found nothing...

Will keep you posted.
Vacuum cleaner sucks up budgie.

User avatar
Brontoburglar
Walter Sobchak
Posts: 4001
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:20 am

Re: Tech Support

Post by Brontoburglar » Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:23 am

a RAM chip may have also gone bad too
"We're not the smartest people in the world. We go down the straightaway and turn left. That's literally what we do." -- Clint Bowyer

Post Reply