If you could do college all over, what would you study?

Okay . . . let's try this again.

Moderators: Shirley, Sabo, brian, rass, DaveInSeattle

Sabo
The Dude

If you could do college all over, what would you study?

Post by Sabo »

Thanks to vandwagon for the thread idea, which was in the spring thaw reading thread.

So, if you could go back in time and choose your college major again, what would you study?

I'd probably pick something that would allow me to work outdoors, such as biology, forestry or ornithology. I also would strongly consider enlisting in the military before I went to school, in part for the so-called adventure of being a soldier and another part for building discipline.

I studied journalism, and was a reporter for five years before moving into technology. Journalism isn't a bad degree to have because it exposes you to so many disciplines, and (theoretically) gives you the ability to write and speak in a clear manner. Both are very useful in whatever occupation you eventually have, even if it doesn't involve writing news stories every day. It also made me very distrustful of language, because you have to consider what words really mean instead of just accepting the jargon spewed by so politicians, managers or whomever.
THERE’S NOTHING WRONG WITH GALA LUNCHEONS, LAD!
Jerloma
The Dude

Re: If you could do college all over, what would you study?

Post by Jerloma »

Probably biology.

And I'd fuck more women.
And the unicorns shall come down with them, and the bullocks with the bulls; and their land shall be soaked with blood, and their dust made fat with fatness. - God
Rex
The Dude

Post by Rex »

I'll bet everybody here says law.
testy boxcar
Maude Lebowski

Post by testy boxcar »

I tried journalism and history... I'd probably drop out, which I did the first two times I tried. Everything worked out okay!
Rex
The Dude

Post by Rex »